Bio

Photo: Sharon Langer

Photo: Sharon Langer

I am a Poet, Author, Editor, and Journalist. My diverse writing includes poetry (5 poetry books), plays, and prose. Shemoelof’s works have won significant recognition and prizes and have been translated to six languages. My first short story collection, “Remnants of the Cursed Book” was published in 2015 by Kinneret Zmora-Bitan Dvir, the leading publishing company in Israel, where I have recently signed a publishing contract. The editors of the short stories book  were Prof. Yigal Schwartz and Tamar Bialik

I edited a vast variety of magazines and papers, most of which deal with poetry and culture.  He was the founder of Guerrilla Culture Movement

My writing is diverse and includes poetry, plays, and prose. My works have won significant recognition and prizes, including “Best debut poetry book of the year” (national art trust of the national lottery 2001); Selected appearance of “What has become of the independence day” play in the Small-Bama festival of the University of Tel Aviv; Best poetry book of the year (Haifa Cultural Foundation 2006); Honorable mention at “Haaretz” Annual short story contest (2011); Winner of the Acum prize for advocating literature in Israel (2013) and more

My works have been translated to six languages, including a German translation done by the Literaturwerkstatt, which also invited me to Berlin to record my poets on audio (Lyrikline 2012), and a recent translation to Arab, which was published in leading literature papers, such as Alarabia (Internet), Kadita (Israel), Al-Carmel (Ramallah) and Al-Akbar (Egypt).

I read my poems on the Chicago University and on Cornel University (2014). This year (2015) I was invited to lecture in the Tel Aviv University and next year (2016) I will be reading my poems a special event about Mizrahi Poetry in Basel University in Switzerland.

My poems were published on different Magazines: Zeek Magazine, Words without bordersBig Bridge Journal, Märchenland: Die beteiligten Autoren setzten sich mit den Märchen der Gebrüder Grimm auseinander, brachten ihre prosaische Form auf eine lyrische Ebene und begaben sich in die mitunter ambivalenten Bereiche des kulturellen Gedächtnisses in Deutschland und Israel.”

 As an editor, I edited a vast variety of magazines and papers, most of which deal with poetry and culture. These works include “Echoing Identities” (Am-Oved 2007) which is one of most viewed and quoted academic work regarding 3rd generation writers in Israel, and “Aduma” (Red) – A poetry collection, which sold more than 3 editions in a very short time, and considered to be a one of the most successful and original literature publication ventures in Israel in the last decade.

I publish regularly on Israel’s leading media channels, including: Israel Hayom (Israel’s most popular daily newspaper), were I contribute a weekly opinion column and literature reviews.  I publish a weekly column on Mako as well (The Internet news site of Keshet – Israel’s the most popular TV channel). Previously, I published on Ynet (Israel’s most popular news site), NRG (Israel’s #3 news site), and Walla (Israel’s most popular portal). I also took part in many TV appearances, including guest and panel member on Popolitika (public channel TV); Owls (culture channel TV); Channel 10 News, and others.

My academic status is a PhD student at the Hebrew university of Jerusalem, currently on a two-year break, which I took in order to focus on my writing. I hold a Bachelor’s degree in Theater from the University of Tel Aviv and a Master’s Degree in Contemporary American History from the University of Haifa, which won the Dean’s Special Award for Academic Excellence. Furthermore, I worked as a co-researcher at Van-Leer Institute and the Ben Zvi Institute in Jerusalem, and lectured at Minshar College for Arts.

To complement my academic, journalistic and artistic work, I take part in social activities: I volunteered in Keshet, The Democratic Rainbow Organization, as a researcher and spokesman for five years.  I co-founded the multi-ethnical annual workshops in Tel Aviv for Ashkenazi and Mizrahi cultural movements at the Lyvik House for Yiddish writers; I contributed critical texts to several plastic art shows at the Museum of Tel Aviv for Arts, Bezalel Academy of Arts and design, and more.  I am the co-founder of the Israel Poets Union and the co-founder of “Culture Guerrilla”, an Israeli movement which propagates poetry as an accessible art form, and promotes political causes by means of art performed in public. Although the usually exclusive nature of poetry and poetry reading, this movement has achieved significant success in high profile cases regarding contemporary economical and social events, reaching front headlines in Israel, and a few mentions abroad (including one at the New York times).

Fiction

My first short story collection, “Remnants of the Cursed Book” was published in 2015 by Kinneret Zmora-Bitan Dvir, the leading publishing company in Israel, where I have recently signed a publishing contract. The editors of the short stories book  were Prof. Yigal Schwartz and Tamar Biali

Short stories

My story “A Jew abandoned in Baghdad” was published on “Laghoo” journal

Poetry Books

 

Editorial

Plays

  • “What has become of the independence day” (Small-Bama Festival,2, The Tel Aviv University , 2003).

Radio

  • All 4 peace Radio – “The people voice” with Roy Chiki Arad –  focusing on poetry readings, 2011

Academic Articles

Poem in German

Arabic

Tags:

About Mati Shemoelof

משורר, עורך וסופר. A Writer

Leave a Reply

