A JEW ABANDONED IN BAGHDAD

Mati Shemoelof

Panoramic view over the ancient city of Babylon, located 85 kilometers south of Baghdad. [edit] Panoramic view over the ancient city of Babylon, located 85 kilometers south of Baghdad.
[edit]

fiction by mati shemoelof

To Almog Behar

 Salah has to be late on the one day when I didn’t take my mobile, and this crumbling café doesn’t have a single working phone. Of course it’s today that I have an exhausting headache. It wipes me out. It wipes out my ability to communicate “Allāhu Akbar” calls the muezzin, and I pray quietly, “Praised are you, Lord our God, King of the universe, for granting us life, for sustaining us, and for helping us to reach this day.” I take out the apple flavoured red tobacco , which is really just disguising the deeper sweetness of strawberries with its apply flesh, spread some hashish over it to give it a kick, and return my head to its nonexistent body. I imagine the rich sweet scent carried through my…

View original post 3,080 more words

About Mati Shemoelof

משורר, עורך וסופר. A Writer

Leave a Reply

